12
Sep
11

Taris part 6

Taris Part Six

“Well, this was a great idea,” I mumbled to myself under my breath as I started back toward the camp. The charges we had rigged had failed to blow and it was still up to me to destroy that serum.

When I arrived back at the camp I was able to penetrate the defenses once again in no time. I had to hide from a couple of patrols, but managed to get back to the storage tent without any problems. I double checked the charges on the crate of serum and found the problem: one of the wires was old and wasn’t making good contact. I wasn’t going to take any chances this time. I pulled a thermal detonator from my utility belt and set it to blow in ten minutes. I figured that should give me plenty of time to get out of the camp.

On my way out of the camp I was forced to use a different route because of a sentry patrol on the path I had used before. I hid between two tents so I could get a good look at the path I would need to take before I could exit the camp. I checked that the path was clear, stepped out from behind my cover, and immediately heard sirens go off and a saw red light blinking.

“Stang!” I must have set off an alarm. I could have tried to made a break for the tree line, but it was too far. I’d get shot down if their sentries made it here in time. I hid behind a crate and waited for the pirates of this camp to come.

Six men came around the corner armed with blasters and rifles. They didn’t look like much. I tossed a flash grenade and opened fire while surprise was still on my side. If I could just hold them off a minute or two more, the explosion of the serum should be enough distraction for me to get away.

Two of the looters dropped their guns when the flash bomb went off covering their eyes and screaming, “I can’t see, I can’t see!” The four others opened fire on me, hitting the crate I was hiding behind. I launched a second grenade at the looters and three more men went down. The other two had finally picked up their weapons, but were shooting blind. The three remaining looters were soon joined by ten more. Just as the thirteen men started to open fire on me, the explosion went off and lit up the night sky. The pirates couldn’t help but turn to look.

“We’re under attack!” some yelled, while others shouted, “Our stuff! All of our loot!” Some of them even ran over to the explosion site forgetting all about me. I sprinted to the tree line, into the night and the looters never even noticed.

I showed up at the main road to find my companions, Zotta and T7, safe, but Lechelle and her parents were no where in sight.

“Where…?” I started.

“It’s ok, Leftenant. I called a shuttle to come get them and transfer them back to the spaceport base. They are good men and I know they will set them up with a place to stay for the time being. They are safe,” Zotta assured me. “Now what of the serum? I saw a big explosion back there.” He pointed in the direction of the pirates’ camp.

“Well Zotta, as you know and as my report will note, we got the civilians to safety and then I went back to secure the serum to bring back to the Captain. However, I was attacked by the looters and the serum was destroyed in the fire fight. Tough break really…” I smiled at my new friend.

“Ah yes, Leftenant, that is what I recall as well.”

We got on our speeder bikes and headed for the base camp. T7 could deliver our report to Captain Stalk via holo. It was almost dawn and we needed rest.

Zotta woke me around 8am. I had fallen into my rack when we arrived in the barracks and fell asleep almost instantly. I was used to getting only a few hours of sleep, but that didn’t mean I wasn’t still tired.

“We have a briefing with General Garza and my Master.”

“Great, do we have time for chow first?” I asked. Zotta nodded. I got up and got dressed, hoping that my second day on Taris would be easier then the first.

I decided we should walk to the Mess hall, hoping it would give me a chance to look around for Lechelle. I couldn’t wait to see her again. I hoped to get know her better.

Walking through the base camp was uneventful. I watched the busy people going about their daily routine; workers, soldiers, and vendors, all busy with their own duties.

Zotta and I arrived at the Mess hall. It was probably the third biggest building in the camp after the Spaceport and the Command center. It was used to feed all the soldiers and Republic workers stationed here on Taris. When we went inside and I smelled the food, I realized just how hungry I was. In all the excitement yesterday I hadn’t eaten since the shuttle ride. I got a big plate of food that reminded me of home at Moss’ diner, and then washed it all down with a glass of blue milk.

After we finished eating, I took some stim tea to go. Zotta and I walked out of the mess toward the Command center and about halfway there I saw her. She looked like a dream; rested now and not scared for her life, she had a certain calm about her. She ran over to us. She was still as beautiful as the first time I saw her.

“We still have a few minutes, Leftenant,” Zotta said knowingly as he walked away to leave us alone. Lechelle was wearing simple clothes; brown pants, and a yellow shirt with a light brown vest to match. She smiled at me.

“Hello Lechelle. How are you and your folks doing?”

“Good morning, Dimbo! We are great thanks to you and Master Zotta,” she replied as I smiled. “Dad got us set up with a shop to sell out of and we are staying in a compound just outside the base.”

“I’m glad to hear you are all well. I’m really sorry, but I have to go report for a briefing,” I told her.

“It’s okay, I just wanted to ask you for a favor,” She smiled as she spoke to me.

“Anything Lechelle.” I was eager to spend more time with her, no matter the task.

“Could you teach me how to shoot? I’ve only ever handled a blaster a few times and Taris is a scary place. I don’t want what happened to us before to happen again.”

“Sure thing, I’d be glad too, but no one is going to hurt you as long as I am around. I’ll come find you later today. I have to get to my briefing, I’ll see you later.”

“Thank you Dimbo,” she said. I waved and walked to the command center.

2 Responses to “Taris part 6”


  1. 1 Zotta
    September 14, 2011 at 6:05 pm

    I love it. Keep it comin buddy.


Leave a Reply

Contact me at:

dimbotrooper@gmail.com

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 21 other followers

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Blog Stats

  • 5,183 hits

TORsyndicate

Keyboard Heroes


